You Cant Stand Under My Umbrella

Standard

Ever got pissed off with a person and you gave them a serious black out, but they didn’t know you had blacklisted them in your life? I once did, well, I always do and sometimes I think it’s kinda childish. It’s like taking poison and waiting for your enemy to die. The truth is, you are the one who dies inside slowly and painfully cus the other person will never know what is going on. We all know how slow people can get when it comes to reading hints. They can take eons; while some are genuinely slow in reading hints, others just want to annoy you more and watch while you get consumed with fury and all.

That aside, yesterday as I was waiting to get into the matatu, it started raining and I had to get my umbrella out to cover my hair. I don’t care if I get wet anywhere else but my hair should never and I mean never, get wet unless there will be a visit to the salonist on that day. It rained for a few minutes and some guy behind me came and sheltered under my umbrella. He doesn’t say hi, he just comes and stands there. I smile, a friendly smile, but the rudeness in him couldn’t tell him to smile back and I am like dude, come on! You just can’t shelter under my brolly and not even a smile from you, whatever happened to courtesy. I play along for the next few minutes and after a whole ten minutes when the rain stops is when he starts a small talk about how matatus will be charging higher rates now that it has rained.

We get inside the bus and we go to our separate seats, but not even a thank you comes from him. And then it hit me how we take small things for granted. He he he,I am not trying to, you know act like a God’s gift to him at that particular moment, but what happened to saying thank you even for the minutest of things. What happened to smiling back when someone smiles at you? It’s really rude when someone smiles at you and you continue looking at them like nothing happened. Dang, if I smiled at a person and they assumed my smile I would turn navy blue with embarrassment. That’s like being told off in not so many words. Don’t ask me how I am still dark complexioned after yesterday’s smiling mishap. I was tensed cus time was running out and with Nairobi’s traffic, you can never estimate your arrival time. So, that’s how I survived the embarrassment 😀

It’s the lack of courtesy that has got our roads so messy in terms of traffic cus no one wants to give way. It’s me, myself and I. I hope when I finally buy me a Subaru, the drivers with big buses will have learnt some courtesy and they will have stopped bullying drivers with smaller vehicles. I shudder every time I imagine being sandwiched between two buses. I am always eager to get my car, but then again, I imagine how chaotic these roads can be and I want to continue using PSV some more. I once saw a lady driver stall in the middle of the road after being bullied by two buses on a hill just before you get to Pangani. She let go off the steering wheel and threw her hands in the air I frustration. You can bet your last coin she had a very bad day on that day. I get pissed off when the driver keeps braking and throwing you off your seats once in a while. I hate to imagine how she felt.

I am hoping PSV drivers will acquire some patience soon and stop hogging the roads like it belongs to them. I am hoping there will be stringent traffic laws to curb road rage and most of all; I am hoping corruption will end someday (talk about waiting for a camel to go through a needle hole).

Today’s rant is about those people who sit in the bus like they are sitting on their sofa. Too comfortable at the expense of others, it irks me from here to the moon and back. Those who dig their elbows into someone’s ribs as they look for fares; the thunder that will strike you is still doing sit-ups.  Those who place their heavy weight on you as they sit and after they sit, may you be hit by lighting when Elnino finally starts. Those who chew so loudly washing your face with saliva as they blow the gum, hell is preparing to receive you. Same as those who talk so loudly on the phone disturbing the peace of the rest, firewood or whatever that will burn you in hell is still being dried. How did I forget those who sit by the window eating fries and all and not even open the window? Chocking the rest with food smells, it’s already hot and stuffy inside the bus. You keep adding other smells, and you won’t open the windows for fresh air, the devil is watching you ha ha ha!.  Small courtesy goes a long way, I am sure it doesn’t hurt to be courteous.

Leave a Reply

