Nanyuki Sports Club trip

Standard

 

Do you ever feel like you are stuck in a rut? You know, your daily routine becomes painfully boring and you find that sometimes you are losing track on what you are doing. Or worse still you keep on making mistakes when you are working. Just like when you got tired while revising for an exam and you kept reading the same line 3 times and you didn’t grasp a thing. That was me last weekend; I could not concentrate at work and when Kamwana announced there would be a holiday on Monday, elated would not even describe what I felt. I badly needed a break and the good Lord heard a girl’s prayer. I was to take a break at some point anyway but that would have meant eating up my leave days which is not part of the plan if I can avoid it. Some people would say I just woke up and I decided to travel; it had been a plan all along its just that I was still looking for the perfect date.

On Saturday afternoon I took a Mathree to Nanyuki. I had taken the best seat, just close to the window, close to the driver to minimize bump shocks and all. I was to read a book I had carried just in case I got bored along the way. Let’s just say the book didn’t get out of my bag. I was too carried away into my thoughts read the book. The driver and the two people who sat with him were also too entertaining to get bored. What’s with the stories ranging from young men being ‘kept’ older women and the like. At some point one of them alighted and it was just the two of them; the stories continued and the journey was all good. Seated next to me was a man who kept on making calls so loudly you would think he was quarrelling the person on the other end. That was quite alright with me cus the driver and the other person were keeping me entertained. The entertainment was short lived when we got to Sagana and most of you know there’s a market of some sort. The vehicle was stopped for people to make whatever purchases, stretch, get something to eat et.al. You would think we were going to Mombasa or somewhere just as far. I sat put as people bought and sold and all hell broke loose when the buying and selling was all over.

This my neighbor discovered they speak the same language with the person next to him on the other side. And that was the start of my predicament. It’s ok for people to talk but it’s not ok to talk loudly and in a language you can’t understand. It’s bad manners to eavesdrop on people’s conversations but eeer, sometimes we just can’t help it. I mean you can’t stuff your ears with cotton wool or something close to that. I have a problem with people who talk so loudly in the morning especially when I’m going to work. My friends think I’m always cranky in the morning. I just hate noise especially in the morning, never mind sometimes the matatu’s radio is so loud. I mean where do they get the energy to talk that early? Can you imagine they talked nonstop from Sagana until I alighted? And this was amid phone calls; I could not help pitying his family members who have to endure his ‘quarellling’ everyday of their lives. I wondered how he quarrels people if his normal way of talking can be termed as quarelling.

So, one minute I am all angry and pissed at this guy cus he can’t talk like normal people and the next minute I am biting my lower people trying to stifle a laughter cus of the driver and the co-driver. I have heard poverty stories over and over again but there was something about their stories. They were just hilarious in a funnier way. For the better part of the journey, it was the driver who was talking and the other person contributed here and there. It was mostly about jiggers; the art of removing them and making sure they didn’t return to the same spot. Y’all know jiggers are associated with poverty and poor hygiene. But what made it even funnier is his description; you know there’s a way two people can be describing the same thing but one will come out funnier. His most torturous scenario was going to school after jiggers had been removed the previous night. There was a specific wild fruit that they used to apply to make sure the bugs didn’t attack again which was as painful as hell. When it was play time and they had to play football on the grass and he had no shoes on was just as bad. Then he would hit the ball with his ‘wounded’ foot and he would wince in pain thus forcing him to sit and watch as the others played. I’m sure y’all have heard this story over and over again; I wonder why people have to glorify poverty in the name of motivating others. I got to my aunt’s house with the mother of all headaches partly from all the noise and hunger pangs from hell. My metabolism rate is quite something else.

Its Sunday and I’m up early to go to church; I still don’t know how I sat for the sermon for a whole four hours although we sang in between. After the church we go to get a bite before heading home. And guess where we ended up; Nanyuki Sports Club. There was a rugby game that I didn’t know about until the said Saturday. So had I been a rugby fan, I would have hit two birds with the same stone; unwinding while watching the game. Unfortunately, I am not a sports person.sports nanyuki club.jpg

If you are looking for a venue to host an event, a day out with friends or family or a place to play golf, Nanyuki Sports club is the place to be.  Maybe I should suggest the place to my boss for team building manenos although I have a feeling he has been there a number of times. You can opt to be a member which, comes with a few privileges like free entry when there are games and some other events. There’s also temporary membership which starts at Kshs.500 per person depending on the event. There are also rooms for guests and they come in hut shapes. I didn’t get to go into any of them, but I bet they are just as good.

We sit and ask for a drink before we make our order. The waiter brings us club soda in a mug that resembles (I mean the size) the jugs in Karumaindo pubs and the like. Let’s just say that this particular club soda is the most divine drink I have ever taken.  My aunt wont tell me what else was in it but it was just divine; there were pieces of lemon, water melon and pineapples in the drink. I had to sip mdogo mdogo to just savour it. Then came the most delicious fish I have ever eaten; not too spicy and not too bland. Just the right taste; it came with fries and any vegetables toppings that tickled your taste buds. I opted for greens cus I don’t like kachumbari as such; it leaves my mouth feeling dry and my taste buds all messed up.img_20160911_141049

I thought marabous are only found in Nairobi, shock shock; these birds can be quite unsightly especially their necks (that part of the neck that hangs out). Me thinks the food ends up there and when its full, its starts going to the stomach, tihihihi. Another thought is, that part of their necks could be their gizzard. They are so big they can snatch your food right from your table without straining much.

Check out Olkaria Geothermal spa

img_20160911_1517141

Nanyuki Sports Club is quite vast in terms of open land and when there are no games, there’s enough space for kids to run around and still not get to the end. For golf lovers, this is one of the best golf courses. For people hoping/trying to keep fit, there is a fully functional gym with instructors et.al, the field is quite big for jogging and there’s a swimming pool.nanyuki-sports-club-2

The best part of the Nanyuki sports club is that you get to view Mt. Kenya. I have lived in Nanyuki for quite some time and Mt.Kenya is better viewed early in the morning; the peaks (ice and all) are quite conspicuous and glorious does not even start to describe it. I’m still planning to go up there one day; its still one of my things to accomplish. However, it can get quite cold, so make sure you are warmly dressed for evenings. I guess that’s where I got a flu I am nursing. For pictureholics like your’s truly and Shi, there are lots of places to take pictures. I have been using my phone to take pictures, but I’ll get a nice camera soon. Eeeeeer, I am planning to join e ‘em fashion bloggers too; I guess I have come of age in fashion manenos. Be the judge though Jimg_20160911_174758

img_20160911_1745351

IMG_20160911_173854.jpg

See Mt.Kenya on the background

Mt. Longonot Hike

img_20160911_1750551

 

 

 

5 responses »

Leave a Reply

